top of page

My Top 10 Places in the World, Part One

My Top 10 places in the world, Part One

I was so Inspired by a recent article I read about Port Douglas, that it brought back happy memories of my last visit up there about five years ago, to one of the worlds' greatest holiday locations.

Then I started recapping on the other places I've been to in the past few years, which led to my compiling my top 10 list of the places to visit.

This is just my opinion, and only includes places I have personally visited within the past 10 years.

Apologies to places like New York, Cologne, Amsterdam, Brussels, Perth, Hamburg and Monte Carlo. Hope to get back to these great locations again one day.

Allow me to share my experiences.

Put these places on your wish list, and go there with the rewards from your business success.

1. Sydney- Australia

The Harbour City-. I live just 3 hours away from the harbour city, and for me it is the perfect weekend escape.

So much to do and see.

A sunny day on the harbour, taking in the panoramic sights of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, the Sydney Opera House and Darling Harbour, make this an essential part of the tour for all tourists. A wonderful combination of clear blue skies, crystal clear waters, and a relaxed easy going atmosphere.

2. London- England

My Home Town, the capital city of England.

Who doesn't love London?

The Tower of London, Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, St Paul's Cathedral, Marble Arch, where do you stop?

All the pomp and pageantry of the Royal family, great pubs, fish n chips,

The hub of Europe

3. Prague- Czech Republic

I visited this Medieval City on the Vltava river, a few days before Christmas in 2006, and walked straight into that Christmas Carol atmosphere.

Everything from the huge Christmas tree in the centre of the Old Town Square, a touch of snow, the wonderful aroma of chestnuts and Gluewien. Good King Wenceslas chiming all around.

Some great places to see here, Prague Castle, the Charles Bridge, King Wenceslas Square and the Jewish Quarter.

4. Langkawi - Malaysia

Langkawi is a holiday island 30 km off the mainland coast of northwestern Malaysia.

I spent 2 weeks here in 2007.

This for me is a lazy relaxing holiday, by the pool, with sandy beaches, mountain views, great people, easy going, shopping great food. Beautiful scenery.

I just love relaxing by the pool, with the smell of coconut sun tan oil. basking in the sunshine.

All we did was bask in the sunshine, until we got too hot, flopped into the pool and swam to the pool bar for a beer and a bowl of chips with ketchup.

Never been more relaxed in my entire life.

5. Las Vegas- USA

What else can you say about Vegas, other than 'Breathtaking"

They were the words I used to describe when I first came here in 1988, when the population was about 200,000.

Today it's grown to around 2 million, and when I rocked up there in October 2011, I was blown away again.

Vegas is completely over the top. It drips with money, wealth, sleaze and tack. Everything is loud, boisterous and huge.

It kind of epitomises what some people would say is wrong with the world, yet I love it. I love it for what it is. It is there for people to escape, for people to dream. It doesn't somehow feel real, but there you are. If you go to Vegas that's what you get.

it is the entertainment and gaming capital of the world, and you never know what can happen.

This should be on everyone must do list.

That's enough to think about for one day.

Part Two to follow tomorrow

If you like this post, on My Top 10 places in the world. feel free to share and leave a comment.


  • Facebook Black Round
  • Google+ Black Round
  • Tumblr Black Round
bottom of page